No Schedule to display at the moment

As we distance ourselves physically, 

know we are together spiritually!

• ZOOM Prayer Meeting

FPC Salem is continuing our Zoom prayer meetings. They will take place every Wed. at 7:00 p.m.

• RUN-WALK Devotional 

Enjoy an exciting new way to add a bit of exercise and devotion together! Join together on Sunday's @ 8:30 am in the church parking lot as we walk and look for new ways God may reveal himself around us.

Check messenger for full details...


First Presbyterian Church

of Salem

436 East 2nd Street

Salem, OH 44460-2816


PASTER David Houdeschell




Note: the pastor's and other church offices are not accessible to anyone.

  • Facebook
  • Pinterest

On behalf of Session...

The Interim Ministry Committee is pleased to introduce Rev. David E. Houdeschell, OSL, as our new Interim Pastor on January 1st. Rev. Houdeschell was ordained in the United Methodist Church in 1976 and has over forty years of ministry experience. 

Rev. Houdeschell began his ministry as an Army Chaplain at Fort Knox, Kentucky. He served in various chaplain positions both overseas and within the U.S. He served our country as an Army Chaplain for seventeen years.

After the Army, Rev. Houdeschell served as an educator and trainer for the Department of the Navy for another five years. Rev. Houdeschell returned to Ohio to be the Director of Pastoral Care at Alliance Hospital from 2000-2003. He has served as an Interim Minister with churches in Leetonia and Massillon, Ohio.

In 2013, Rev. Houdeschell transferred his ordination to the United Church of Christ as he began a called ministry position with St. John United Church of Christ in Bolivar, OH for five years. He is now coming to Salem, Ohio to lead us in our ongoing transition. 


Newly Elected Officers and Pastor Nominating Committee (PNC)

• Elders, Class of 2023 •
Paul Fennema, Ryan Gillis,
Carol Ricciardi, Margaret Winch


• Elders, Class of 2021 •
Lu Ann Cole, Marilyn Ward


• Deacons, Class of 2023  •

Kathie Baker, Susan Merry,

Mike Newman, Gail Tetlow


• Deacon, Class of 2021 •

Teri Lou Pike


• Pastor Nominating Committee •

Brenda Bradley, Ken Double, Paul Fennema,

Kirk Hofmeister, Ruth Newman,

Gloria Shafer, Sue Skiba